radiators, the steel casements and metal covered windows in the tower connections, certain elevator cabs, and a small portion of the electric conduit work. The daily average of the force employed by the general contractors was 602 men. The expenditure on the work up to March 31, 1920, amounted to \$5,037,922. By the end of the year, the work was advanced sufficiently to enable both Houses of Parliament to occupy their new buildings, and, accordingly, on February 26, 1920, the fourth session of the thirteenth Parliament of Canada was opened therein, with the customary time-honoured ceremonies, by His Excellency the Governor-General.

The Late Sir Wilfrid Laurier.— The Right Hon, Sir Wilfred Laurier, G.C.M.G., leader of the Liberal party of Canada for 32 years and Prime Minister of Canada from 1896 to 1911, died from the effects of a paralytic stroke at Ottawa, at 2.50 p.m. on Monday, February 17, His remains were removed from his home in Laurier Avenue 1919.to the Chamber of the House of Commons, where they lay in state from the evening of February 20 until the state funeral at 10 a.m. on Saturday, February 22. The unanimous adjournment of both Houses of Parliament from February 20 to 25 and the large crowds who filed through the death chamber and attended the funeral, testified to the deep, personal respect and affection which the great statesman had inspired amongst all classes of his fellow countrymen in both political parties. Sir Wilfrid Laurier was born at St. Lin, Quebec, on November 20, 1841, and was called to the Bar in 1864. In 1871 he was elected a Member of the Quebec Provincial Assembly. In 1874 he entered the Dominion House of Commons as Member for Drummond and Arthabaska, becoming head of the Liberal Party on the retirement of the late Hon. Edward Blake in 1887. While in London during the Diamond Jubilee festivities of 1897, he was appointed a member of the Imperial Privy Council and created G.C.M.G. At a convention of the Liberal Party, held in Ottawa on August 4, the Hon. W. L. Mackenzie King was chosen to succeed Sir Wilfrid Laurier as Leader of the Party and of the Opposition in Parliament, this position having in the meantime been temporarily filled by Mr. D. D. McKenzie, M.P. for Cape Breton North and Victoria, N.S.

**Obituary.**—1919: Jan. 3. The Hon. Ernest de Warennes, Member of the Legislative Council of Quebec. Feb. 17. The Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier, Premier of Canada, 1896-1911; The Hon. Geo. W. Brown, Lieutenant-Governor of Saskatchewan, 1910-1915. Feb. 19. Sir Rodolphe Forget, M.P. for Charlevoix, P.Q., 1904-1917. Feb. 28. John Fraser, I.S.O., Auditor General. Robert Harris, C.M.G., President of the Royal Canadian Academy, 1893-1906. March 20. The Hon. W. J. Hanna, 1917, Provincial Secretary, Province of Ontario, 1905. March 26. The Hon. George Taylor, of Leeds, Ont., Senator. April 14. Sir Auguste Angers., Lieutenant-Governor for the province of Quebec, 1887-1892. April 6. Joseph Read, M.P. for Prince Co., P.E.I. April 8. Thomas Barnard Flint, M.A., LL.B., D.C.L., Clerk of the House of Commons, 1902-1918. April 19. W. C. Bowles, I.S.O., Chief Clerk of Journals, Votes and Proceedings